Smart data management with the EMS accelerator

How EMS contract manufacturers develop into high-performance EMS accelerators, who use smart data to create added values.

In Germany there are around 400 EMS providers. Ideally, the customer orders an electronic module or device using an article number. This article number is broken down into hundreds of components. An enquiry regarding price and availability must be made for each individual component, these frequently have to be negotiated and ultimately ordered.

Anyone who wants to survive in the market supplies their customers with fast, marketable results – and at the same time also offers harmonisation of the master data. This resource-intensive process is significantly streamlined and accelerated by the interaction of an intelligent product data structure, an efficient ERP system, through automated web bots and last but not least, through experienced employees. This digitalisation step divides the EMS market into EMS accelerators and EMS stragglers: Consolidation is inevitable.

The added value of smart data is produced by intelligent digitalisation of the raw data, which are subjected to multiple iterations in which they are corrected, standardised and enriched with current market information. Planning and scheduling, design and engineering and ultimately all production processes also operate on the basis of the project master data. This master data is used to create added value – strategic and operative decisions are made, depending on their quality, market up-to-dateness and, if applicable, additional information. They rightly form the backbone of an electronics and electromechanics company.

Five advantages of modern data preparation in relation to the customer’s expectations. (With the kind approval of the Business Application Research Center– BARC GmbH.)

Unfortunately, reality in the projects business frequently shows the opposite. The largest worldwide BI survey of users ranks the master data problem among the top three for systematic analysis of business processes (Source: BARC, www.barc-research.com). It is indisputable that strategic decisions in particular suffer as a result and small (unidentified) causes achieve a large effect. In addition, BARC also identifies data quality as the third largest challenge for successful data preparation (see figure on the left).

The right EMS company

Know-how, resources and data quality account for the bulk of the difficulties that companies have to deal with. Here the key in project-based electronics production lies in choosing the right EMS accelerator, who first “digitally harmonises” each project centrally, digitally and with a good portion of experience. EMS companies have all individual components with extensive metadata, which demand not only daily-updated movement data but also static technical knowledge. This can be viewed as a single point of information, when the data for each individual component is collected, updated and enhanced. The success of the project is considerably dependent on the smart data measures undertaken by the EMS accelerator.

Value proposition - simple, faster, intelligent

Digitalisation and (partial) automation accelerates the entire project progress, the data quality, volume and up-to-dateness increase substantially and the master data is permanently harmonised. Web crawlers automatically search for delivery periods, prices and metadata, parts lists contain fewer or even no errors at all and are consolidated.

In this way, a process is started that makes such data a production factor. Because due to their value (intelligent collection, refining and provision), these data largely correspond to the 4th production factor knowledge. They are available in digital form saved in the machinery and are no longer ties to human players.
An EMS accelerator therefore makes a value-adding contribution to the customer’s comprehensive data management, when it transforms master data into “smart data”, provides it for further evaluations and achieves a quality level that allows sound strategic decisions to be made from the customer’s point of view.

An EMS accelerator is therefore required and expected to ensure the data quality cycle for projects, especially the correction, harmonisation and enrichment of the article data. The result is not only high-quality handling efficiencies but also increased flexibility and often even knowledge transfer regarding technology, planning and scheduling and processing. The data is monitored and controlled not only fully automatically in digital form but also by the “industrial engineers” in the project.

EMS acceleration concept

“If a production article has run through all trades in our company, from the design to component procurement through to production, I not only obtain a functioning end product, but I also enable customers to have an integrated view of their device. There is so much additional benefit in the data that we supply that a productivity gain is achieved on all levels.”, is the firm belief of Dr Ralf Hasler, CEO of the Lacon Group regarding his EMS acceleration concept.

EMS providers in an era of digital change

“With our digital offensive we operate flexibly and competently within the changing boundary conditions of the market. This includes active use of intelligent web technologies, semi-automated compaction and preparation with subsequent standardisation in the ERP.”

The EMS “contract manufacturer”, who previously tended to be derided, has developed into a high-performance EMS accelerator. They not only function as a sparring partner with industrial engineering expertise, but also optimise business processes, transfers and transforms project knowledge and, as a data manager, ensures the high quality of the master data in the project.


Interview with Dr Ralf Hasler, CEO of the Lacon Group

Painful. No hype. EMS added value. Adding value with smart data.

Dr Ralf Hasler, CEO Lacon Group

A brief company portrait please.
With 250 employees in Germany and 300 in Romania, the Lacon Group is to be classified as an EMS accelerator. Lacon is one of the top 20 EMS providers in Germany. It achieves a turnover of almost 60 million euros annually.

Which firms are your customers?
Its customers range from technology corporations to small innovative firms. In the past ten years our Group has supported and advised more than 20 high-tech start-ups with prototyping, industrialisation and series production.

We develop, optimise and produce electronic and electromechanical modules and devices for these companies. These include printed boards, assembled and injection moulded cables and cable harnesses, control panel assemblies, power distribution boards, industrial controls, medical devices, display systems, parts removal machines and measurement and test devices.

What makes your company different to other EMS providers?
We not only produce prototypes but also series between 10 and 100,000 parts. The special feature of our company lies in its high degree of flexibility, which it achieves using small, quick to retool production machines in combination with manual work. The comprehensive service offer ranging from a components shop through to the issue of conformity documentation is also special. Production mainly takes place in the Upper Bavarian town of Karlsfeld.

Cases & Solutions

Jetzt kontaktieren
Jetzt beraten 08131 591 0

Smart-Data-Management mit dem EMS-Accelerator

Wie sich EMS-Auftragsfertiger zu hochperformanten EMS-Beschleunigern entwickeln, die mit smarten Daten Mehrwerte schaffen.

In Deutschland gibt es rund 400 EMS-Dienstleister. Im besten Fall bestellt der Kunde mit einer Artikelnummer eine elektronische Baugruppe oder ein elektronisches Gerät. Diese Artikelnummer wird in Hunderte von Komponenten aufgelöst. Jede einzelne Komponente muss hinsichtlich Preis und Verfügbarkeit angefragt, häufig verhandelt und letztlich bestellt werden.

Wer im Markt bestehen will, liefert dem Kunden schnelle, marktgerechte Ergebnisse – und bietet nebenbei auch noch eine Harmonisierung der Stammdaten an. Dieser ressourcenintensive Prozess wird durch das Zusammenspiel einer intelligenten Produktdatenstruktur, einem leistungsfähigen ERP-System, durch automatisierte Webbots und nicht zuletzt erfahrene Mitarbeiter wesentlich verschlankt und beschleunigt. Dieser Digitalisierungsschritt trennt den EMS-Markt in EMS-Beschleuniger (EMS-Accelerator) und EMS-Nachzügler: Eine Konsolidierung wird nicht ausbleiben.

Der Mehrwert von smarten Daten entsteht durch eine intelligente Digitalisierung der Rohdaten, die über mehrfache Iterationen bereinigt, standardisiert und mit aktuellen Marktinformationen angereichert werden. Disposition, Design und Engineering und letztlich auch alle Fertigungsprozesse arbeiten auf Grundlage der Projektstammdaten. Mit diesen Stammdaten wird Wertschöpfung betrieben – je nach dem Grad ihrer Güte, der Marktaktualität und gegebenenfalls Zusatzinformationen werden strategische und operative Entscheidungen getroffen. Sie bilden zu Recht das Rückgrat eines Unternehmens in der Elektronik und Elektromechanik.

Fünf Vorteile moderner Datenvorbereitung in Relation zur Erwartungshaltung des Kunden. (Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Business Application Research Center– BARC GmbH.)

Die Realität im Projektgeschäft zeigt häufig leider das Gegenteil. Die weltweit größte Anwenderbefragung BI Survey belegt das Stammdatenproblem mit einem Platz unter den Top 3 für die systematische Analyse der Geschäftsprozesse (Quelle: BARC, www. barc-research.com). Es steht außer Frage, dass darunter insbesondere strategische Entscheidungen leiden und kleine (unerkannte) Ursachen eine große Wirkung erzielen. Daneben identifiziert BARC unzureichende Datenqualität auch als die drittgrößte Herausforderung für eine gelungene Datenvorbereitung (siehe Bild links).

Der richtige EMSler

Knowhow, Ressourcen und Datenqualität machen das Gros der Schwierigkeiten aus, mit denen Unternehmen zu kämpfen haben. Dabei liegt der Schlüssel bei der projektgetriebenen Elektronikfertigung in der Wahl des richtigen EMS-Beschleunigers, der zentral, digital und mit einer ordentlichen Portion Erfahrung jedes Projekt zuerst „digital harmonisiert“. Der EMSler verfügt über alle Einzelkomponenten mit weitreichenden Metadaten, die sowohl tagesaktuelle Bewegungsdaten als auch statisches Technikwissen verlangen. Dies kann als Single Point of Information verstanden werden, wenn für jedes einzelne Bauteil die Daten gesammelt, aktualisiert und ergänzt werden. Dabei hängt der Erfolg des Projektes erheblich von den Smart-Data-Maßnahmen ab, die der EMS-Accelerator vornimmt.

Nutzenversprechen einfach, schneller, intelligent

Die Digitalisierung und (Teil-)automatisierung beschleunigt den gesamten Projektverlauf, Datenqualität, -umfang und -aktualität steigen erheblich an und der Datenstamm wird nachhaltig vereinheitlicht. Web Crawler suchen automatisch nach Lieferzeiten, Preisen und Metadaten, Stücklisten enthalten weniger bis keine Fehler mehr und werden konsolidiert.

Auf diese Art und Weise wird ein Prozess in Gang gebracht, der derartigen Daten zu einem Produktionsfaktor macht. Denn diese Daten entsprechen durch ihre Werthaltigkeit (intelligente Sammlung, Veredelung und Bereitstellung) weitgehend dem 4. Produktionsfaktor Wissen. Sie liegen in digitaler Form maschinengebunden gespeichert vor und sind an keinen menschlichen Akteur mehr gebunden.
Ein EMS-Beschleuniger leistet also einen wertschöpfenden Beitrag für ein umfassendes Datenmanagement des Kunden, wenn er Stammdaten zu „smart data“ transformiert, für weitergehende Bewertungen bereitstellt und ein Qualitätsniveau erreicht, das fundierte strategische Entscheidungen aus Kundensicht erlaubt.

Die Aufforderung und Erwartung an einen EMS-Beschleuniger ist demnach die Sicherstellung des Datenqualitätszyklus für Projekte, insbesondere die Bereinigung, Harmonisierung und Anreicherung der Artikeldaten. So kommen neben der hohen Qualität Effizienzen im Umgang, eine erhöhte Flexibilität und oft sogar ein Wissenstransfer in Bezug auf Technik, Disposition oder Verarbeitung zustande. Überwachung und Kontrolle der Daten geschehen sowohl vollautomatisiert digital als auch durch die „Industrial Engineers“ im Projekt.

EMS-Acceleration-Konzept

„Wenn ein Fertigungsartikel in unserem Hause vom Design über Komponentenbeschaffung bis zur Fertigung alle Gewerke durchlaufen hat, halte ich nicht nur ein funktionierendes Endprodukt in den Händen,  sondern ich ermögliche dem Kunden eine ganzheitliche Sicht auf sein Gerät. Da steckt so viel Zusatznutzen in den Daten, die wir mitliefern, das ist ein Produktivitätsgewinn auf allen Ebenen.“, ist Dr. Ralf Hasler, CEO der Lacon-Gruppe, von seinem EMS-Acceleration-Konzept überzeugt.

EMS-Dienstleister im Digitalen Wandel

„Wir agieren mit unserer digitalen Offensive flexibel und kompetent auf die sich verändernden Rahmenbedingungen am Markt. Die aktive Nutzung intelligenter Webtechnologien, halbautomatisierter Verdichtung und Aufbereitung mit anschließender Standardisierung im ERP gehören dazu.“

Der bisher eher belächelte EMS-„Auftragsfertiger“ hat sich zum hochperformanten EMS-Beschleuniger entwickelt. Er fungiert nicht nur als Sparringspartner mit Industrial- Engineering-Kompetenz, sondern optimiert Geschäftsabläufe, transferiert und transformiert Projektwissen und garantiert als Datenverwalter die hohe Qualität der Stammdaten im Projekt.


Interview mit Dr. Ralf Hasler, CEO der Lacon Gruppe

Schmerzhaft. No hype. EMS-Mehrwert. Mit smarten Daten Wertschöpfung betreiben.

Dr. Ralf Hasler, CEO Lacon Gruppe

Ein kurzes Unternehmensporträt bitte.
Die Lacon-Gruppe ist als EMS-Accelerator mit 250 Mitarbeitern in Deutschland und 300 Beschäftigten in Rumänien einzustufen. Lacon zählt zu den Top 20 EMS-Anbietern in Deutschland. Der Umsatz liegt bei knapp 60 Millionen Euro jährlich.

Welche Firmen gehören zu Ihrem Kundenkreis?
Technologiekonzerne sind ebenso Kunden wie kleine innovative Firmen. In den vergangenen zehn Jahren hat unsere Gruppe mehr als 20 High-Tech-Start-Ups bei Prototyping, Industrialisierung und Serienfertigung begleitet.

Wir entwickeln, optimieren und fertigen elektronische und elektromechanische Baugruppen und Geräte für diese Unternehmen. Dazu gehören bestückte Leiterplatten, konfektionierte sowie umspritzte Kabel und Kabelbäume, Schaltschränke, Energieverteilungen, Industriesteuerungen, medizinische Geräte, Anzeigensysteme, Entnahmeautomaten sowie Mess- und Prüfgeräte.

Was macht Ihr Unternehmen anders als andere EMS-Anbieter?
Wir produzieren sowohl Prototypen als auch Serien zwischen 10 und 100.000 Stück. Die Besonderheit unseres Unternehmens liegt in der hohen Flexibilität, die es durch kleine, schnell umrüstbare Fertigungsmaschinen in Kombination mit manueller Arbeit leistet. Besonders ist auch das umfassende Serviceangebot, das vom Bauteile-Shop bis zur Ausstellung der Konformitätsdokumentation reicht. Die Produktion findet überwiegend im oberbayerischen Karlsfeld statt.

Cases & Lösungen